The administrative and academic activities of the university are primarily based on the Rajshahi University Act of 1973. The act, passed in 1973 by the parliament, allows the university considerably more autonomy than most other peer institutions in the country. The President of Bangladesh is the de-facto Chancellor of the university, but his role is mainly ceremonial. The highest official after the Chancellor is the Vice-Chancellor, to be selected by the senate of the university every four years. (In special circumstances, the President has the authority to appoint the Vice-Chancellor). The present Vice-Chancellor is Professor Muhammad Mizanuddin appointed by the President. Other important officers of the university include the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, the Treasurer, the Registrar, the Controller of Examinations, the Proctor and the Student Adviser. The proctor is in direct charge of student activities and is the official with most direct contact with the students. The most important statutory bodies of the university are the Senate, the Academic council and the Syndicate. As a public institution, most of the funding for the university comes from the government. The University Grants Commission (UGC) is the body responsible for allocating funds to all public universities.

Offices of Administrative Personnels are in the side adminmenu-

Administration Building


This site is maintained and updated by Webmaster, Computer Center, RU. Please contact: E-mail:

Joomla Slide Menu by DART Creations
ilahi dinle ilahi dinle evden eve nakliyat